

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

NELSON SMITH COMMISSIONER

DEPARTMENT OF

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES

Post Office Box 1797

Richmond, Virginia 23218-1797

Telephone (804) 786-3921 Fax (804) 371-6638 www.dbhds.virginia.gov

OFFICE OF LICENSING DBHDS 2023 COMBINED STUDY WORKGROUP

MINUTES

Meeting #3, August 3, 2023 1:00 PM – 3:30 PM

This meeting was conducted entirely electronically.

I. INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF JULY 27TH MEETING

Dr. Nair reviewed workgroup objectives and provided a summary of the July 27th meeting:

A. Reviewed discussion on recommendations to change reporting time, including that there had been a question of if changes could be made in light of the requirements of the US Department of Justice's Settlement Agreement with Virginia.

At this third meeting, Heather Norton, Assistant Commissioner, Developmental Disabilities Division, provided an update on the status hearing that occurred the previous week and clarification on the question raised at the July 27th meeting. Ms. Norton stated that changing the 24-hour reporting period would not be in compliance with the Settlement Agreement. The Settlement Agreement is a court order, and any changes that would conflict with the Settlement Agreement cannot be implemented while related provisions of the Settlement Agreement are in effect.

II. CARF PRESENTATION

Michael Johnson, Senior Managing Director for Behavioral Health, CARF International, provided an overview of the CARF accreditation process. Stakeholders asked various questions, from cost to how CARF's accreditation relates to the licensing regulations.

III. REVIEW REVISED DRAFT RECOMMENDATIONS

Dr. Nair provided the group with discussion regarding:

- 1) Changes to reporting requirements.
- 2) Changes to inspection requirements.
- 3) Accreditation.

IV. PUBLIC COMMENTS

- 1) Mary Ottinot, Citizen.
- 2) Meneika Chandler, VNPP. Ms. Chandler rescinded her request since she was able to speak during discussions.

V. CONCLUSION

Dr. Nair thanked the members of the workgroup for their time. Workgroup members were sent copies of presentations from the day's session.

Members or Acting Alternates Present:

Karin Addison; Barbara Barlow; Circe Black; Mindy Carlin; Meneika Chandler; Bill Elwood; John Freeman; Shannon Hartung; Maureen Hollowell; Carlinda Kleck; Nicole Lewis; Martin Mash; Paige McCleary; Colleen Miller; Teri Morgan; Laura Reed; Lori Ryland; Jennifer Wicker.

DBHDS Staff Present:

Jae Benz; Tonya Carr; Veronica Davis; Mackenzie Glassco; Taneika Goldman; Chesna Gore; Jennifer Kovack; Madelyn Lent; Josie Mace; Dev Nair; Heather Norton; Kimora Porter; Susan Puglisi; Candace Roney; Ruth Anne Walker; Britt Welch; Tonia Woolfolk. Braden Curtis (OAG).

Jenae Moore Kemetic

Others Present:

Dana Dewing

Michael Johnson - Invited guest.

Stacy Johnson Kristy Allen Stephanie Bakely Monica Karavanic Susan Bergmann Nat Leonhard LeVar Bowers Meghan McIntyre Laura C Teresa McNally Ashley Callahan Allison Meyer Brian Chizuk Molly Rhonda Council Tracy Moler Lynn Davis Alex Moore Kemetic

Virginia Dingler
Jeremy Greenfield
S Hargreaves
Lori Harris
Helen Holz
Robbins Houston
Kerry Kruk-Borisov
Jan Nelson
Mary Ottinot
Casey Papp
Elizabeth Parker
Renzo Reyes
Holly Rhodenhizer

Megan Johnson Carolyn S

Pattie Schneeman

A Smith
H Scruggs
Lavinia Smith
Aisha Suraz
Cassidy Taylor
Brandi Tinsley
Lynn Turner
Gary Wilburn
Brandie Williams
Denise Yopp
18043866022
18055191621
15716020525

DBHDS 2023 Combined Study Workgroup Members

Туре	Organization	Title	Initial Point of Contact
Advocacy-DD	The Arc of Virginia	Executive Director	Tonya Milling
Advocacy- Individuals	Centers for Independent Living	Centers for Independent Living	Maureen Hollowell
Advocacy-MH	Mental Health America- Virginia	Local Director	Barbara Barlow
Advocacy-MH	National Alliance on Mental Health-Virginia	Executive Director	Kathy Harkey
Advocacy-MH	VOCAL	Executive Director	Heather Orrock; Martin Mash
Advocacy- Protection and Advocacy	DisAbility Law Center of Virginia	Executive Director	Colleen Miller; John Cimino
Advocacy- Providers	Loudoun County (SB1544)	Assistant Director, MHSADS	Hannah Hirshland; Carlinda Kleck
Advocacy- Providers	Loudoun County (SB1544)	Loudoun County Legislative Liaison	John Freeman; Karin Addison
Advocacy- Providers	Provider-Pinnacle	Chief Clinical Officer	Lori Ryland
Advocacy- Providers	VaACCSES	Executive Director	Karen Tefelski
Advocacy- Providers	Virginia Association of Community Services Boards	Executive Director	Jennifer Faison; Circe Black; Nicole Lewis
Advocacy- Providers	Virginia Association of Community-Based Providers	Executive Director	Mindy Carlin
Advocacy- Providers	Virginia Coalition of Private Provider Associations	President	Michael Triggs; Bill Elwood
Advocacy- Providers	Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association	Senior Director of Policy and Government Affairs	Jennifer Wicker
Advocacy- Providers	Virginia Network of Private Providers	Operations Officer-Eastern Division, Wall Residences	Deanna Rennon; Jennifer Fidura

Agency	DBHDS	Associate Director	Angelica Howard
Agency	DBHDS	Licensing Legal and Regulatory Manager	Chesna Gore
Agency	DBHDS	Assistant Commissioner, Division of Provider Management	Dev Nair
Agency	DBHDS	Assistant Commissioner, DD	Heather Norton
Agency	DBHDS	Director of Licensing	Jae Benz
Agency	DBHDS	Associate Director for Community Operations	Jennifer Kovack
Agency	DBHDS	Legislation Manager	Josie Mace
Agency	DBHDS	Associate Director	Mackenzie Glassco
Agency	DBHDS	Policy Manager	Madelyn Lent
Agency	DBHDS	Deputy Commissioner, Policy and Public Affairs	Meghan McGuire
Agency	DBHDS	Community Integration Manager	Michele Laird
Agency	DBHDS	Director of Regulatory Affairs	Ruth Anne Walker
Agency	DBHDS	Regulatory and Research Specialist	Susan Puglisi
Agency	DBHDS	State Human Rights Director	Taneika Goldman
Agency	DBHDS	Legal Operations Manager	Tonya Carr
Agency	DBHDS	Associate Director of State Licensing	Veronica Davis
Agency	Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services - APS	APS Director	Paige McCleary

Agency	Department of Medical Assistance Services	Policy, Regulation, and Member Engagement Division Director	Emily McClellan
Agency	Department of Medical Assistance Services	BH Division Director	Lisa Jobe-Shields; Laura Reed
Agency	Department of Social Services - CPS	Program Manager, Quality Assurance and Accountability	Jennifer Phillips
Agency	Department of Social Services - CPS	Protection Program Manager, Division of Family Services	Shannon Hartung
Agency	DHP	Senior Policy Analyst	Erin Barrett
Agency	DHP	Executive Director, Board of Counseling	Jaime Hoyle
Agency	Virginia Board for People with Disabilities (state)	Deputy Director of Policy and Legislative Affairs	Jen Krajewski; Teri Morgan